Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join WAPA

Committee involvement offers members of the Wisconsin Academy of Physician Assistants the opportunity to directly contribute to the work of the Academy while interacting with fellow PA members who share common interests. Committee participation is a great way for members to network, share ideas and further WAPA’s initiatives. Contact one of WAPA's committee chairs and get involved!


Advocacy Committee: Committee members work alongside and provide direction to lobbyist to: 1) monitor and influence legislation that affects the PA profession, WAPA members and patients; and 2) educate WAPA membership on advocacy efforts. Committee Chairs: Paula Havisto, PA-C ( and Eric Elliot, PA-C (


Communications Committee: Members of the Communications Committee works with staff to ensure adequate tools and resources are utilized for provide relevant information to members and the public. They monitor and provide input for enhancing various communications platforms including the WAPA website, e-news, newsletter, press releases, and social media. Through these efforts, WAPA is able to promote public and professional awareness of the PA profession. Committee Chair: Tara Streit, PA-C (  


Continuing Medical Education Committee: Members of the CME committee work to provide quality, cost-effective, CME conferences for WAPA members that include quality educational content, qualified presenters and relevant vendors/sponsors. Committee Chairs: Fall 2019/2020 Stephanie Ludtke ( Spring 2020/2021 Karissa Hultmark (


Membership Committee: The membership committee works with staff in developing strategies to retain existing members and recruit new members through effective communication and record keeping principles. This committee is also charged with overseeing the PA of the Year award program. Committee Chair: Stephanie Smullen, 


Professional Practice Committee: This committee is charged with monitoring the professional practice climate in Wisconsin and serving as a resource to members regarding licensure, credentialing and reimbursement. Committee Chair: Anne Hletko, PA-C (