Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join WAPA
WAPA Foundation

About the WAPA Foundation


Photographed on left: Leaders of the Year Kathy Osterhaus (2017) & Jamie Silkey (2018). Photographed on right: 2018 PAs of the Year winners and nominees: Ashley Cyr, Stephanie Weiss, Brenda Balthazor, Milton Veirgutz, and Karissa Hultmark-Kerstan.

The WAPA Foundation supports quality physician assistant education and the professional needs of practicing physician assistants in Wisconsin.

Created in 1990 as a 501(c)(3) charitable organization, the WAPA Foundation was established to promote educational and research opportunities for students and practicing PAs. Directed by a Board of Trustees, the organization is dedicated to the importance of health education and research, and promotes both service and leadership as fundamental components of advancing the PA profession.

Click here to meet our Foundation award winners and scholarship winners!

Give Today…Support Tomorrow
WAPA Foundation donors are essential in helping the organization achieve its mission. Through the generosity of WAPA members and other contributors, more than 150 scholarships and research grants totaling in excess of $125,000 have been awarded to PA students and practicing PAs. Your support will help WAPA Foundation continue to offer scholarships that advance the PA profession. Tax deductible contributions are welcome and greatly appreciated. Donate today!

Annual Awards Dinner
The WAPA-Foundation Annual Awards Dinner is held each fall in conjunction with the WAPA Fall Conference. The dinner serves as the primary fundraising activity of the Foundation, with all proceeds going to the scholarship program, which offers financial support to PA students and practicing PAs who are committed to improving health, education, outreach and furthering the PA profession. WAPA annually recognizes PAs who are exemplary, both in their field and in the community. Click here to nominate a PA for PA of the Year or PA Leader of the Year. Please note there is a new deadline for nominations: August 31, 2019. 

Learn more about the WAPA-Foundation scholarship program.